The CBBF is the oldest governing amateur bodybuilding federation in Canada and spans over 50 years. Joe and Ben Weider formed it along with the IFBB in Montreal in 1946. It has a long history of provincial and national competitions with every province in Canada having an affiliate association that feeds athletes to its three National Championships. The CBBF Canadian Nationals, NPC North American, and IFBB World Championships are the only competitions that a Canadian athlete can earn a pro card that allows them to compete in any IFFB Pro contest including the Mr. Olympia and Arnold Classic.

Fouad Abaid won his Pro Card in 2006 and is currently Canada's top male pro As a structured event the CBBF Canadian Nationals are very regimented with strict competition rules that have changed very little since their inception. The shows tend to be long due to the large numbers of competitors with only the top 15 being judged in each division. Those who don’t make the top 15 are eliminated. Unfortunately, due to the many classes only the top five in each category get to pose during the evening finals. This is necessary due to the many divisions and huge number of athletes as time is limited. The CBBF has the best athletes in Canada with the caliber at a very high level and has produced many top International Pros.

As an affiliate of the IFBB the CBBF follows their rules and regulations with a team picked to represent Canada at the IFBB World Championships each year. The team is picked from a special National competition where the selected athletes are drug tested before traveling to the World Championships. The CBBF also has a strict judging policy where each judge has to be officially tested and qualified.

Most Canadian athletes that are featured in the various bodybuilding publications earned their titles competing in CBBF competitions.

For information purposes, the winners on this list represent overall winners of a bodybuilding competition which may have resulted in a pro card being given depending on that year OR a pro card being given for 1st place finish. An attempt is made at listing the event the competitor won in.

1947-René LegerMr. Canada
1948-Alan PaivioMr. Canada
1949-Georges BoulangerMr. Canada
1950-Joffre L'HeureuxMr. Canada
1951-Leo RobertMr. Canada
1952-Robert RoyMr. Canada
1953-Gerard GougeonMr. Canada
1954-Billy HillMr. Canada
1955-Joe PoczaMr. Canada
1956-Torre LarsonMr. Canada
1957-Gilles PoirierMr. Canada
1958-Yvon BrunetMr. Canada
1959-Germain GodboutMr. Canada
1960-Jean-Charles St. MarsMr. Canada
1961-Gaetan D'AmoursMr. Canada
1962-John HazelMr. Canada
1963-Andre DesjeansMr. Canada
1964-Dennis GauthierMr. Canada
1965-Conrad LaframboiseMr. Canada
1967-Michael GaleaMr. Canada
1970-Vince BasileMr. Canada
1973-Jon Mikl ThorMr. Canada
1974-Eddie WolinskiMr. Canada
1975-Walter MilnerMr. Canada
1977-Roy CallendarCBBF
1978-Reid SchindleCBBF
1979-Reid SchindleCBBF
1980-Reid SchindleCBBF
1981-Reid SchindleCBBF
1982-André MailleCBBF
1983-Steve KeesaCBBF
1984-Mark HintzCBBF
1985-1986-Steve BrisboisCBBF
1987-Joe SpinelloCBBF
1988-Nimrod KingCBBF
1989-Joe SpinelloCBBF
1990-André BilodeauCBBF

1991-Joe SpinelloCanada Cup
1992-Claude GroulxCBBF
1993-Bob WeatherillCBBF
1993-Ray Williams Canada Cup
1994-Claude GroulxCBBF
1994-Bruce PattersonCanada Cup
1995-Art Dilkes CBBF
1996-Greg KovacsCBBF
1996-Anthony WilliamsCanada Cup
1997-Yves MontmarquetteCBBF
1997-Rudy SolimanCanada Cup
1998-Erik AlstrupCBBF
1999-Freddy AntwiCBBF
2000-Reza AmintorabiCBBF
2001-Nelson DaSilvaCBBF
2002-Mike PlatzCBBF
2003-Frank McGrathCBBF
2004-Dan FedelukCBBF
2005-Simon VoyerCBBF
2006-Fouad AbiadCBBF
2007-Vincent WawrykCBBF
2008-Ben PakulskiCBBF
2008-Gregory UlysseCBBF
2009-Mike Van WyckCBBF

2010-Santana Anderson CBBF