No announcement yet.

2011 Arnold Classic Finals Branch scores the big win at last! Report by Ron Harris

This is a sticky topic.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2011 Arnold Classic Finals Branch scores the big win at last! Report by Ron Harris

    <style>@font-face { font-family: "Times New Roman"; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; }table.MsoNormalTable { font-size: 10pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }</style> 2011 Arnold Classic Finals
    Branch scores the big win at last!
    Report by Ron Harris

    Despite very strong competition from both Dennis Wolf at his best ever and Victor Martinez in top condition, Branch Warren did indeed leave the Veteran’s Memorial Auditorium tonight not only with his fifth Most Muscular award, but also first place and all that goes with it: a $130,000 check, a $20,000 Audemars Piquet watch, a Tony Nowak leather jacket, and a Joska crystal trophy. He also now joins the list of legends that have won the Arnold Classic that includes Rich Gaspari, Shawn Ray, Kevin Levrone, Flex Wheeler, Ronnie Coleman, and Jay Cutler.

    After hearing his name announced by emcee Lonnie Teper as the winner, Branch dropped to the floor much the way Ronnie Coleman was known to do back in the day. Arnold came out to give the congratulatory interview, and commended Branch for refusing to give up even though he came up short at this event several times over the last four years. Branch took the time to thank his Lord and savior Jesus Christ, his wife Trish, his good friend Brian Dobson who believed in his potential twenty years ago when no one else did, and his sponsors: Steve Blechman and MD, Muscletech, and GASP clothing, and his nutrition coach George Farah.

    All in all, it was an excellent night for Team MD, as we had the entire top four. I also want to personally give Branch props for bringing up his back to the point where what was once a major liability has now become a strong point. And furthermore, I want to go on record as saying that until tonight I honestly never saw Branch as a future Mr. Olympia. Now, I’d say that this September, Jay, Phil, and Kai had all better bring their A-game, because Branch Warren is breathing down their necks and will be a serious threat. Tonight wasn’t just a victory for Branch or MD though – it was a win for the underdog. For anyone who’s ever been told they’ll never be good enough, that they don’t have what it takes to be the best, Branch showed that hard work, determination, and belief in yourself can beat any odds. Congratulations Branch my brother, I am truly happy for you.

    Final results and prize money:

    1. Branch Warren $130,000
    2. Dennis Wolf $75,000
    3. Victor Martinez $50,000
    4. Evan Centopani $30,000
    5. Dexter Jackson $15,000
    6. Ronny Rockel $10,000

    Best posing presentation:
    Dennis Wolf $10,000

    Most Muscular Award: Branch Warren

    Lifetime achievement award: Lou Ferrigno

  • #2
    I'm delighted to hear the result. And so happy for Wolf cause I thought he deserved the win in the last show.
    Great results