Muscular Development Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help needed with chest development.

Default Help needed with chest development.

Hi,

I have been training for about 6 months now and been a member of my gym for about 3. I have lost weight and gained some muscle by changing my diet and lifting 4 to 5 times a week. I can see slow but steady improvements in my physique, but seem to be struggling with my chest development. The problem I have is my chest training seems to stress my arms and shoulders rather than my chest. For example, when I bench, I can feel my arms break down, but my chest does not seem to feel it. Any suggestions as to what I am doing wrong? I have been reading MD, Muscle and fitness and Flex (UK editions as I am in England) and also look at other lifters form in my gym. I seem to be performing the exercises correctly. I do flat and incline presses, some flyes and also cable crossovers etc in my workout. I can feel the cable crossover working my chest, but not the presses.

Your problem is not all that uncommon in beginners, there are a few things you need to do, firstly look at your bench press form, how wide are your arms? they should be no narrower than shoulder width apart and not much wider than about another handwidth after that. It could be that your hand position is just too narrow.

Secondly and more likely you simply do not have the mind/muscle connection yet. The solution to this is to pre-exhaust your pecs with an isolation movement first then move onto the bench press, you won't be able to bench as much weight but you will feel it more in your pecs.

Try something like this routine

Incline Flyes 4 setsx10-12 reps
    Incline Bench press 4 setsx10-12 reps (use dumbbells or barbell here)
    Some type of machine press 3-4 sets x 15-20 reps (The hammer style machines with independently moving handles are best)